Credit: SANDY HUFFAKER/AFP/Getty Images

It has been pretty wild to watch from abroad the many crazy events unfolding in the US since Joe Biden won the Presidency almost two months ago. Thankfully, the courts have not been too impressed by the various undocumented allegations about voter fraud. So at least one branch of the federal government, the judicial, is still doing its job. However, it has been very troubling to watch the two other branches. Luckily, the executive will be back in business after January 20th. But I fear for the legitimacy of the legislative branch. I mean, how can you ever take seriously the 12 GOP-senators who have decided today to vote against counting the electoral votes next week? They have basically refused to support decomcracy.

Note: I am fully aware that the number of people rejecting the election result far exceeds these 12 GOP senators. E.g. President Trump, DT Jr, Rudy Giuliani, Sidney Powell, Kayleigh Mcenany, Jenna Ellis, and 140+ GOP-“politicians” in the House. But the sad truth is that I didn’t expect anything else from these people.

However, to find that a US Senator decides to engage in undemocratic behaviour is both horrifying and shameful. The current GOP members are about to ruin both their own party as well as the legitimacy of the legislative branch in a country that for a long time has been viewed as a beacon of democracy.

Therefore, remember these 12 names below, their legacy will forever be stained by their decision to reject the Electoral College: Sens. Josh Hawley of Missouri, Ted Cruz of Texas, Ron Johnson of Wisconsin, James Lankford of Oklahoma, Steve Daines of Montana, John Kennedy of Louisiana, Marsha Blackburn of Tennessee, and Mike Braun of Indiana, and Sens.-elect Cynthia Lummis of Wyoming, Roger Marshall of Kansas, Bill Hagerty of Tennessee and Tommy Tuberville of Alabama.